The Friends of Herefordshire Archives (FHA) is a charity (Registered Charity No.519223) which has been supporting the Herefordshire Archive Service (HAS) since 1985. The HAS looks after unique documents, maps and images which together tell the story of nearly 1,000 years of our county’s past.
The HAS is based at the Herefordshire Archive and Record Centre (HARC) which opened in 2015. HARC is appointed by the Lord Chancellor as a place of deposit for the custody of public records (Public Records Act 1958 S4(1). The Council must satisfy the National Archives that certain conditions are being met in order to keep the licence as a place of deposit valid.
HARC is first archival storage building to be built to the rigorous Passivhaus standard as well the first archival facility in the UK to be constructed to the new PD5454:2012 standard.
The Friends of Herefordshire Archives raises funds to:
- Support the activities of the HAS to allow people to discover, use and enjoy the collections through research, talks, exhibitions and educational events.
- Contribute to the purchase of documents for permanent preservation at the HARC, so they can be made available to researchers both now and in the future.
- Contribute to the purchase of books for the local history library at HARC and for related conservation projects.
- Support and promote volunteering at HAS.
- Organise meetings and visits for members of the FHA.
- Lobby on behalf of the HAS.
Membership form here.
Read our Constitution here.
Read our Data Protection Policy here
The President of the FHA: Edward Harley
Friends of Herefordshire Archives Committee (elected at the AGM on 25 May 2018)
Chair: Jane Adams
Honorary Treasurer and Membership Secretary: Alan Walker
Honorary Secretary: Helen Ball
Honorary Newsletter Editor: Jennifer Shoesmith
Committee Members: Peter Bishop, Janet Cooper, David Lovelace